Thoughts From Pastor Tim – H2O Edition

Note: “Thoughts From Pastor Tim” is a (nearly) once a week series of articles written specifically to the men and women of Compass Church.

This week our family took a little mini-vacay down to Tucson. We stayed at the Westin La Paloma, a place we’ve been going about every other summer for the last twelve years. We set a goal to ride the waterslide 100 times, but a massive lightning storm came in on Tuesday afternoon, so we only made it to 60. There’s no denying the fact that I turn into a little kid on waterslides. A few years ago they had a contest to see who could go down the fastest. I came in at exactly 10.4875 seconds. The record is 9.5 seconds, but apparently it was set by a teenager with no body fat who wore Speedo’s.

If it takes wearing Speedo’s to win, then I guess I’m a loser. I’m completely at peace with that.

I still think I’m pretty fast, however. And every time I would hit the water at the bottom, I couldn’t help but try to splash the waterslide life guard – in a subtle way, of course.

But overall we had a great time. When we’re all together on a road trip it becomes painfully clear how much of our communication revolves around Napoleon Dynamite quotes, with a token Nacho Libre reference thrown in here and there.

We also realized that we’re somewhat of a competitive family, and that meant when we went bowling (because it was raining and we could no longer ride the waterslide due to the whole “standing on an elevated metal structure” thing), we all had to put our hands in the middle and say out loud, in unison, “It doesn’t matter who wins.”

Yeah, that worked.

It actually did, until Judi won the first game. Then both the males in the family (who will remain anonymous) went south fast. That “doesn’t matter who wins” business is a crock. Ryan made a stellar comeback, however, and won the second game. I didn’t win didley. I hate bowling.

On another note, you’re not going to want to miss this Sunday at Compass. We’re going to do something we’ve never done before, but I can’t tell you what it is, because it would defeat the purpose. You’ll just have to trust me on this. Let’s just say it’s very biblical…

2 thoughts on “Thoughts From Pastor Tim – H2O Edition

Leave a comment